Tags

“Catch!”

Martine sat up with a start as the coin rattled onto the desk in front of her.

“What?”

Henry shook his head and threw himself into his chair. “Penny,” he said. “For your thoughts.”

“Oh,” she said. “Sorry. I was miles away.”

“I noticed. What’s got you so pensive?”

She held up a manila folder. “The Barker case.”

He leaned forward, intrigued. “I thought that one was a slam dunk?”

She passed him the folder and rubbed her temples. “So did I. On the face of it, Davis is a credible suspect, and the evidence seems to line up.”

He glanced up at her with one eyebrow raised. “And underneath?”

“Once you look into it, it holds about as much water as my decrepit old aunt.”

He grimaced. “Nice image there, Marty. Thanks for that.”

“Look at the file, Hen. Somebody is setting this guy up for a fall.”

Henry smiled. “Lucky fella, then. Having you there to catch him.”

© Kari Fay

(Author’s Note: The 3WW prompt words this week are Credible, Decrepit and Pensive.)

