Tags

, , , , , ,

“Um. Hello. Is this thing on? Okay? Well.

“I was out walking alone one night when it happened. Everything around me got kind of still and quiet and I had this strange feeling that I was being watched.

“Then there were lights. Bright lights, and I shut my eyes.

“When I opened them again, I was somewhere else, and they were there in front of me- aliens! Just like in the movies, they had those big gray heads and jet black eyes and when they looked at me I couldn’t tell whether they were benign or malevolent.

“I stared at them for a moment. ‘Don’t probe me!’ I begged, my hands instinctively moving to protect my… posterior.

“The aliens exchanged glances. At least, I think they did.

“‘Seriously?’ one of them said.

“‘Wow,’ said the other. ‘Jxxplotl wasn’t kidding when xe said that humans had some repulsive ideas.’

“I grinned at them in relief. ‘Sorry,’ I said. ‘I heard stories… must have been some other aliens… obviously not you guys…’

“Well anyway, they had actually just stopped to stretch their legs. Long journey, you know. So I stopped to chat with them for a little bit – aliens make surprisingly good tea…

“And, well, that’s how I came by the secret to world peace.

“Are you sure this microphone is on? Hello?”

© Kari Fay

(Author’s Note: The Three Word Wednesday prompts this week, the words Malevolent, Probe and Repulsive… well, it had to be aliens…)
