Tags

, , , , , ,

“Let’s keep this brief, shall we?”

She laughed. “Brief? Well, if you insist!”

He narrowed his eyes. “This is no time for levity, Miss Harleston.”

She smiled and leaned back in her chair, crossing her legs gracefully.

“Levity? I am sitting here in nothing but my underwear while you point a loaded gun at my head. I would say it was the perfect time for levity.”

“You will tell me where the files are, or I will kill you.”

She smiled. “Neither of those things are about to happen.”

A bead of sweat rolled down his forehead. “I am serious, Miss Harleston.”

“Yeah,” she said, nodding in a patronising manner. “Of course you are. Unfortunately I am not about to expose my employer to blackmail and espionage, so you’re not going to get those files.”

She uncrossed her legs slowly, keeping her eyes on him, and stood up.

“I mean it,” he said, his hand wavering slightly. “I will shoot you.”

She sighed. “I thought you wanted to keep this brief? If you’re going to shoot, go ahead and do it.”

He blinked, frowned and swallowed.

She put a hand on her hip and rolled her eyes. “Oh, do come on,” she said. “I’m trying to give you an advantage, here!”

His finger tightened on the trigger, but by the time the bullet left the gun she was no longer in front of him. Her arm tightened around his neck, and he struggled to breathe.

“My turn,” she said. “Who sent you?”

© Kari Fay

(Author’s Note: The Three Word Wednesday prompts this week were Brief, Expose and Insist.)

