Tags

, , , , , ,

“Why did you do it?”

“I don’t know. I was just curious, I suppose.”

“Curious?”

“Yeah, you know, I just wondered what would happen.”

“You were told what would happen.”

“I know. But you might have been making it up.”

“You think that we would do that?”

“I think you might do anything.”

“I see. And what do you think we might do now?”

“Does it matter what I think? This conversation is only postponing the inevitable.”

“Why do you say that?”

“Because you told us what would happen.”

“We might have been making it up.”

“Yeah, you might have been. But you weren’t, were you?”

“Why do you say that?”

“Because you’ve got that look in your eyes.”

“What look?”

“A wary look. Like a cat, ready to run. Are you ready to run?”

“Should I be?”

“Perhaps. You might as well let them in now. I know they’re coming.”

© Kari Fay

(Author’s Note: A bit of an experimental doodad for my belated Three Word Wednesday this week. A bit of intrigue and mystery – what do you think might be going on? The prompt words were Curious, Inevitable and Wary.)

