Tags

, , , , , , ,

After hours on the road, the horses tired and they were forced to stop. Mirra busied herself tending to them, brushing them down and setting them to graze, while Herrin looked up and down the dusty trail and kicked his heels.

Eventually he gathered his courage and turned to speak to her.

“You realise it’s likely a trap,” he said.

She laughed. “I know. I propose we spring it when they’re not expecting us.”

Herrin smiled. “You sound like you have a plan.”

She grinned at him. “Well, it is my turn to take charge, don’t you think?”

He looked away for a moment, then narrowed his eyes and looked at her anew.

“You took the news awfully well,” he said. “About your heritage, I mean.”

She stopped smiling and folded her arms across her chest. “If you’re trying to allege that I…”

She trailed off, her gaze meeting his. They looked at each other in silence for a long moment.

“All right,” she said. “I never could conceal anything from you for long. I already knew.”

“I thought as much,” he said. “Why didn’t you say anything?”

One corner of her mouth twitched upwards slightly. “Would you have treated me the same if you knew I was royal?”

He shook his head.

“There you go then. I wanted to know that you wanted me for who I was, not who I was born to be.”

He smiled and took her hand, running his thumb over the grubby silver ring she wore.

“So what now?”

She sighed. “Well, we have to rescue Tryls first. Maybe I’ll put him on the throne instead. We’ll see.”

© Kari Fay

(Author’s Note: Well, it seems that if I miss a post, I completely miss it. Apologies for last Friday – although, that’s the first time I’ve completely missed a post the whole time I’ve been writing here, which has to count for something. Hopefully we’re back on track now. Today’s installation is brought to you courtesy of Three Word Wednesday, with the prompt words Allege, Conceal and Propose.)

