Tags

, , , , , ,

She lit a cigarette and scowled at him.

“What?”

He leaned against the wall and smiled.

“Now, is that any way to greet a friend?”

She scowled more and blew smoke at his face. “We’re not friends.”

“Really?” He laughed and folded his arms. “Coulda sworn that was what you just told your boss.”

She flicked her cigarette and glared. “I thought this was over with. You said it was over with when the trial ended.”

He moved a little closer to her. “The Godfreys affair? Oh yes, that’s over with. But-”

“No buts,” she interrupted. “I got you what you wanted. That was the deal.”

“Mmm,” he said. “But the thing is, we have a certain level of… expectation. We clear the files for somebody and we expect to see improved behaviour. Imagine my surprise when I heard your name in my office again.”

She pressed her lips together and looked away from him.

“Same terms, sweetheart. You get me what I need, and I make sure you stay out of court.”

She sucked on her cigarette and blew a cloud of smoke over her shoulder. “Same terms? And what then? Next time you want something, you’re just gonna turn up again. I’m never gonna be free of you, am I?”

He tapped the handcuffs on his belt. “Well, of course, if you don’t want to be helpful, I can just arrest you right now.”

She stabbed the cigarette out on the wall. “Fine. What do you want then? Who is it this time?”

© Kari Fay

(Author’s Note: The Three Word Wednesday prompts this week are Affair, Expectation and Free.)

