Tags

, , , , , ,

Tonight, whilst you’re all sleeping soundly in your beds, I’m working.

Working to make sure that the world you see around you every day, including the mundane normalcy of your life, remains.

If I do my job well, you will never hear of me. You’ll never notice anything that I do, never see any sign of my presence. Everything I do will remain above top secret and one day I will die alone, lonely, my achievements unrecognised, my name forgotten.

If you’re lucky.

I do the best I can, but the budget cuts are hurting us like everyone else. There used to be five of us to cover this city, now it’s down to three, so inevitably the coverage isn’t what it used to be.

I do the best I can, but sometimes things slip through. Then the job’s a little more complicated.

Have you ever tried to catch a nightmare? Of course you haven’t. Not your job, is it. And don’t think that I’m just talking about the run of the mill nightmares. I’m not talking about the ones with too many doors. I’m talking about the ones with too many teeth.

That’s if it’s a good night.

But anyway, I shouldn’t be chatting to you, should I? I should be working.

Good night.

Sleep tight.

© Kari Fay

