Tags

, , , , , ,

The audience was all abuzz. They had been waiting for this for a very long time.

“I’m the King’s biggest fan,” one was heard to pronounce. This was, of course, the prelude to a great debate, since almost everyone present thought they were entitled to that moniker.

“I have all his records,” the first fan continued.

“I have his last record signed,” another nearby fan boasted.

“Through the fan club? Yeah, I got that too,” the first one said dismissively. “I got mine signed in person. I could never play it now, of course, but that’s fine because I bought it five times.”

“Shush,” somebody else said as the lights dimmed. “He’s coming on soon!”

“Ooh, do you think he’ll be wearing the silver sequinned suit? I love that!”

There was an excited giggle and voices hushed all around the arena. “I hope so,” came a whispered reply. “Nobody pulls off a sequinned suit like the King does!”

The lights flashed, spotlights swept the stage, and the band took the stage. The guitarist struck up the opening chords of “Love Me Tender” as the King appeared through the smoke.

The King took his place centre stage and his voice filled the arena.

“RAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRGHHH!!!!”

Enraptured, the audience burst into screams and applause as Tyrannosaurus Rex, the King of the dinosaurs, roared under the spotlight.

© Kari Fay

(Author’s Note: Feeling a little random tonight 😉 and there had to be dinosaurs involved because I just saw Jurassic Park on a cinema screen for the first time!)

