Tags

, , , , ,

She bunched another tissue up in the palm of her hand and took a deep, shuddering breath. The words spilled from her lips as the tears spilled from her eyes. The tissue, spent, was thrown into the bin and another one took its place.

All the time, her friend listened.

She said nothing. She made no judgements or accusations. She made no flippant comments. She didn’t swear revenge or suggest ways the crying girl could get her own retribution.

She just listened.

Her confession complete, an entire packet of tissues consigned to the bin, the girl lay down on her bed, exhausted.

“I’m so glad you’re here,” she whispered. “I feel so much better for telling you about it. I know you won’t tell anyone.”

She reached out to her friend, who purred softly in response.

“I can tell you anything, can’t I, kitty?”

© Kari Fay

(Author’s Note: Inspired by one of the postcards in this week’s PostSecret.)

