Tags

, , , , ,

At the beginning of all things there was the Lady. She sculpted the world with her hands. She raised mountains and carved out seas, marked the courses of rivers with her fingers. She created all things, and breathed life into her creations.

The spirits of the world she had built were greatly pleased, and between them they decided to hold a great celebration in honour of the lady. They came together in a clearing that was special to her, and they offered her gifts.

The spirit of the Earth was first.
“From the depths of my realm I have created this gem,” he said offering up a multi-faceted jewel that sparkled in the sunlight. “I made it from the ores you blessed me with.”

Next came the spirit of the Water. “I bring you this smooth and beautiful stone,” she said. “When you placed it in my depths it was jagged and plain, but I have revealed the beauty you hid within.”

Now it was the spirit of Fire’s turn. “I bring you a necklace,” she said. “I melted down the ores you placed within the earth and made a beautiful, delicate metal.”

Finally it was time for the spirit of Air to present his gift, but he was not there. The other spirits searched the clearing for him and called out, but he was not there.

When they had all but given up, he blew in with a great gust the rippled across Water, rocked Earth and almost extinguished Fire.

“What gift have you brought me,” asked the Lady.

The spirit of Air stopped, aghast. “I have no gift,” he admitted. “I was too busy to make one. I wanted to see all that you had made.”

The Lady was not happy with this. “If you have no time for me, then you will have no time for anyone. From this day forth you shall rush about the world and never be still, and you shall be called Wind.”

The other spirits protested. “But my Lady,” said Fire, of all three the most injured by the spirit of Air, “He was distracted by the beauty of your work. Will you never let him stop and see it again?”

The Lady relented. “Very well,” she said after a moment’s silence. “Since Fire has defended you, you shall be allowed to stop only on the warmest days of summer when Fire rules the skies.”

The Wind accepted her judgement and rushed away.

Before too long, Wind missed being able to stop and talk to the other spirits. The few warm days of summer were too short, and Wind grew sad and lonely.

This is why the Wind moans.

© Kari Fay

(Author’s Note: I’m creating a fantasy world as the setting for this year’s NaNoWriMo attempt and other future stories; I’m trying to come up with some bits of myth and legend for it.)

