When I was a little girl, I had a typewriter in my bedroom, and paper that came on long rolls. I used to sit there and type stories- rambling, nonsensical stories, but stories nonetheless.

Various ambitions have come and gone since then, but now I’m 31 I realise what I probably should have known the whole time; when I grow up I want to be a writer.

While it may be satisfying for me to extensively plan stories for the next NaNoWriMo, that doesn’t make me a writer. The NaNoWriMo stories that I never get around to finishing or editing may be enough to classify me as a writer, at least for one month of the year, but they certainly don’t make me a successful, grown-up Writer.

Writers write, and stories are written to be read.

My aim here is to write stories to be read; to post a story here each and every day. To get people to read those stories and  provide constructive criticism. To grow as a writer, and to tell stories.

