Tags

, , , , , ,

Tori sighed. “Outbid again.”

Her boyfriend looked up from the book he was reading. “Huh? Outbid?”

She rolled her eyes at him. “The Dress,” she said, somehow pronouncing it with a capital letter. “The auction just ended. Somebody else got it.”

He got up and leaned over her shoulder to look at the screen. “Isn’t this something like the fifth time you’ve tried to get this dress?”

She nodded. “It’s the most popular pattern they have. Everyone’s desperate to get one. I just hope the girl who got it looks good in it.”

He put his arm around her and gave her a squeeze. “I bet she won’t look as good as you would.”

She frowned at him. “I know what you’re going to say, Danny why don’t I bid more? I put up exactly what I can actually afford. It’s a fabulous dress, yes, but I don’t want to go into debt for it. It’ll come down in price eventually, once enough people already have it.”

“So you’re just gonna let everybody else have it first? I would go insane.”

She smiled at him and shook her head. “I’m not you, though. There were only five people ahead of me this time.”

He stared at her. “So, what, you’re going to hope it comes up in your size six more times, so you can get it on the eleventh attempt?”

She nodded. “Pretty much. I’ll get it when I can afford it. It’s fine. Anyway, I’d better get dinner on.”

She got up and went into the kitchen, turning the radio on as she passed it. She always liked to listen to loud music while she cooked.

Danny waited until he was absolutely sure she couldn’t hear, then picked up the phone and dialed a number.

“Hey, it’s me. Yeah I know it just ended, she just told me. Was that you? Did you get it?”

A grin spread across his face.

“Awesome! She’ll be so happy. Thanks a lot, mum!”

© Kari Fay

